Looking for the latest news, stories, tips and local knowledge to help plan your trip? Discover what is happening on the Hunter Valley Grapevine.

NSW Wine Awards winners as smooth as Silk

MEDIA RELEASE: 13 November 2023

Last Friday the NSW wine industry came together for the 2023 ICC Sydney NSW Wine Awards where the top trophy winning wines were announced at an exclusive lunch at ICC Sydney, Darling Harbour.

20 trophies were presented for the state’s best wines, including the ‘NSW Governor’s Trophy for the 2023 NSW Wine of the Year’, presented by Her Excellency the Honourable Margaret Beazley AC QC, Governor of New South Wales.

In what was a highly competitive year, the winner was Hunter Valley’s First Creek Wines with its 2022 Single Vineyard Wills Hill Road Chardonnay. A wine that Chair of Judges Mr Nick Spencer described as “a wonderful and powerful example of Chardonnay with great concentration, length and phenolics.”

The trophy was accepted by Greg Silkman on behalf of Silkman Wines, which is led by Chief Winemaker Liz Silkman who claimed the same trophy in 2021 for Silkman Wines 2014 Reserve Semillon.

While the Hunter Valley claimed top honours, the other 15 winning wines on the day shone a light on grape growers and winemakers from across the state including Orange, Canberra District, Hilltops and the Riverina. A full list of all trophy winners is below.

The day was also an opportunity to recognise individuals that have made a significant contribution to the NSW wine industry. Kate Lorimer-Ward, Deputy Director General at NSW Department of Primary Industries, was this year’s presenter of the 2022 Graham Gregory Award.

This year’s recipient was the youngest person to ever receive it, someone who has consistently played a leadership role in state and regional organisations and who has grown the profile of NSW wines and provided a platform for others to succeed. A huge congratulations to Mr Tom Ward, owner, winemaker and viticulturist at Swinging Bridge Wines in Orange.

NSW Wine President Mr Mark Bourne says, “Tom is a well-deserved Graham Gregory Award winner. His contribution to the NSW wine industry at regional, state and national levels is so impressive and a sign of his commitment to a sustainable future for the first state of wine. We thank him for his significant long-lasting legacies to the NSW wine industry.” Full results of the NSW Wine Awards available on our website here -

Media Contact: Alex Burgener, Communications NSW Wine | P: 0404 900 961 | E:

The 2023 ICC Sydney NSW Wine Awards trophy winners from the Hunter Valley are:

  • NSW Governor’s Trophy for 2023 NSW Wine of the Year – First Creek Wines 2022 Single Vineyard Wills Hill Road Chardonnay
  • Blue NRG Trophy for Best White Wine in Show – First Creek Wines 2022 Single Vineyard Wills Hill Road Chardonnay, Hunter Valley
  • NSW DPI Trophy for Best Semillon – Brokenwood 2017 ILR Reserve Semillon, Hunter Valley
  • Orora Trophy for Best Chardonnay – First Creek Wines 2022 Single Vineyard Wills Hill Road Chardonnay, Hunter Valley
  • Charles Sturt University Gulbali Institute Trophy for Best Other White Varietal - Bimbadgen 2023 Growers Vermentino, Hunter Valley
  • Finlayson’s Trophy for Best Cabernet Sauvignon – Tulloch 2022 Cellar Door Release Cabernet Sauvignon, Orange


#huntervalley #huntervalleywine #herestothegoodlife